Can’t help fall-in’

27 Nov

ImageFall has officially (?) come to Kiryu!  Or rather, it’s been freezing for a while now, and I’ve had my kotatsu kicking and my space heater on in any attempt to keep my poorly insulated apartment warm, but it seems as if the world at large is only just beginning to consider it really autumn.  Only now that the temperatures are nearing 0 in Celsius are the schoolgirls biking to school around me wearing scarves (they’re still bare legged…) and the trees are finally dropping their leaves.  At work, we’re all freezing; apparently, the teachers aren’t supposed to turn the classroom heaters on until December, but at least the teacher’s room is relatively warm.  And the view out my window is nice, if nothing else.

ImageSince it’s really freaking cold to me (even if it doesn’t seem to be effecting lifelong Kiryu natives), I’ve been continuing my quest to make warm and fall-seeming foods.  I mentioned my first try at white stew last time, and as I said, for my next stew-making adventure, I tried to use “Japanesey” ingredients to make a more wafu style white stew.  For whatever reason, wafu style yoshoku is sort of a thing; I’ve had wafu hamburgers and wafu spaghetti before, so  wafu white stew didn’t seem out of the question!  Instead of the carrots and chicken I used before, I used enoki mushrooms and Japanese bacon, as well as the peas and carrots from before.  It turned out quite delicious, in my opinion, and I’m likely going to try to make it again sometime soon in order to keep me warm!  Because it’s definitely only going to get colder…
 
In terms of seasonal activities, because it’s not quite time for Christmas but too late for Halloween, I did some Thanksgiving activities with a few of my elementary classes and my junior high special needs class.  Since the lesson was originally planned for third grade, the main focus of the part I taught about was food, and ended with a quiz as to whether certain foods were eaten in America on Thanksgiving (hint: yes turkey, no KFC).  For the second half, however, I thought it would be fun to do hand tracings to make turkeys, since that’s not something I’ve seen used for many crafts in Japan.  I had them trace their hands, make a turkey, and write a message to someone they’re thankful for in Japanese.  I made an example to show the class, too, and the kids really liked it, I think!  I know I had fun making mine.
 
Unrelatedly to all things fall, next weekend is my birthday and I’m headed to Tokyo!  Hopefully I’ll bring back some interesting stories… and maybe a few presents to myself!
Leave a Reply

