Fun in the… rain?

3 Oct

ImageShock and surprise, I spent last Saturday in… you guessed it, Tokyo.  S and I went in primarily to eat
Japanese barbecue or 
yakiniku at a restaurant that offers reduced price all-you-can-eat deals one day of the month.  Since it happened to be a Saturday, we had the chance to make it into Tokyo from Gunma for delicious beef.  Yay!

We decided to do some shopping in the morning, however, and so we headed into Tokyo bright and early and headed to Ikebukuro.  First thing, as we passed a movie theatre, we happened to see a giant column-covering advertisement for the the Shiritsu Bakaleya Koukou movie, which was very exciting to us!  As I mentioned, Shiritsu Bakaleya Koukou was a drama a few seasons back that was popular enough to land a movie, as well as to gain the Johnny’s Juniors who starred in it enough popularity to be chosen as the main group for a few Summary performances.  I loved the drama, I love the Juniors, and I’m really excited for the movie, so, of course, I had to take a photo of the advertisement before we were on our way.

As expected, we hit Otome Road first to grab some second-hand idol goods, but we also wanted to head to Sunshine 60, a giant mall across the street from Otome Road, to go shopping for fall clothes!  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a huge fan of Japanese fashion, and I’ll never give up the opportunity to shop for clothes!  We had been to the mall two weeks previous, with our Tokyo friends, but because we had been short on time and they had been looking for specific things, we didn’t end up buying much.  So, this time, we wanted the chance to go wild!

ImageUnfortunately, since the mall is so huge… we actually ended up somewhat overwhelmed at first.  Still, eventually we found a nice (if rather expensive) shop where S managed, despite her crazy indecisiveness to buy a few things she was looking for, and I found things I liked too!  Still, what I was really looking for in this whole ordeal was boots.  After all, it’s the time of year when every girl in Japan starts wearing cute boots, and after my successful purchase of the most comfortable heeled boots I’ve ever owned last time I was in Japan (my beloved cowboy boots that, alas, are in America right now), I’ve been wanting to get a new pair. The search, unfortunately, took forever; I wear about a size 5 in American sizing or a 21 in Japanese sizing, and often, Japanese “S” sized shoes are a 22 or 22.5, which makes it hard for me to find shoes sometimes (yes, even in Japan!) But finally, at the end of the day, I did manage to find some cute boots, hurrah!  Maybe one of these days I’ll do an ~autumn fashion~ themed post and post photos of all these things.

ImageThe next stop, before we headed to our delicious dinner, was Skin Food!  Those who know me in person know that I’m a huge fan of makeup, and I was saddened at the thought of being separated from my favourite brands while in Japan.  However, one brand totally makes up for it: Skin Food!  Originating in Korea, Skin Food’s shtick is the use of food or otherwise natural products in their makeup.  I originally started buying their nail polish and loved it more than anything I’ve ever used in the states, and have recently started buying their makeup, as well!  Their eyeshadow is quite nice, and I enjoy the shimmer that’s so popular in Japanese eye makeup.  Recently, they’ve started a line of eyeshadows that can be put together in a make-your-own palette, so I wanted to give that a try, and I have to say, I haven’t been disappointed!  I also grabbed a few nail polishes, because I had to leave most of mine in America, and one can never have too much nail polish.

ImageNext, we headed out to meet our friends for yakiniku!  Like many varieties of Asian barbecue,
yakiniku involves cooking meat on an open grill.  The Japanese incarnation of barbecue (taken originally from the Korean tradition, I’m told) involves a small, round grate over an open flame in the center of a table.  Patrons at yakiniku restaurants cook their own meat, placing the food on the grill with a pair of tongs and flipping it and removing it at their leisure.  Most meat comes in two varieties: tare or sauce, and shio or salt.  Deceptively, the salt is also a sauce… it’s just a salty sauce.  Don’t ask me, I didn’t make the rules.  I just enjoy eating meat.

ImageMeat is a popular pastime between S and I and a few of our friends, and while in America, S and I found a yakiniku place in New York that we went to a few times.  It was really delicious, and while in Japan, we had let our friends take care of the grilling, I managed to learn some grilling techniques while being in charge of the grill ing New York.  Still, nothing quite compares to the real deal in Japan, so we were quite happy to get to indulge in delicious meat without spending huge amounts of money.  Also, the friends we went with this time like to eat a variety of things, so we also got to try grilled chicken and vegetables!  It was good… but not as good as the beef. Because, come on, what’s more delicious than grilled red meat?

ImageAfter dinner was regrettably done, we headed home for the evening.  The next day was supposed to be a typhoon, so we wanted to get inside before the rain came.  As it turned out, most of Sunday was, in fact, dry, though ominous clouds were looming on the horizon all day, and naturally, it didn’t start to rain until we went out briefly in the evening.  But regardless, we stayed in on Sunday watching TV, because Sunday morning lineups include a few shows with the idols we follow, but there was also supposed to be something special on TV on Sunday: a documentary about Johnny’s Juniors!

ImageYes, you read that correctly.  When we heard about it, we were quite excited, but what made it even more exciting was the fact that it would be narrated by an actor from the small theatre group that we like, *pnish*.  This particular member is especially special (look at my lexicon) because, due to my winning a contest at a fan event he held, he knows (or knew, two years ago) my name.  And here he was narrating a documentary on Johnny’s Juniors.  It was pretty mind-blowing to hear him (very overdramatically) educate us on how hard it is for Juniors to work all summer during Summary.  The documentary itself was really interesting, too, and I’m always really intrigued to see how everything goes backstage.  As someone who danced all her life at a pre-professional level, I find seeing how shows are put together really interesting, and getting to see behind the scenes of a show that I saw from the audience was really interesting to me.  If the show ever airs again, I’d highly recommend it!

And then Monday was supposed to be more typhoon… but on my way to work, I was greeted by blue skies and no clouds… and unfortunately high temperatures.  Alas… since I bike to school, at least I managed to avoid getting rained on!

Leave a Reply

