First time for everything

29 Aug

Today was the first day of junior high school classes! I apologize in advance for the lack of photographs in this entry; understandably, since parental consent is needed in order to post photos of students online, the school generally restricts taking photos of students at all.  But regardless of whether I have photographic proof or not, today I taught four classes!  Or rather, today I introduced myself to four classes, complete with powerpoint presentation on myself and a quiz at the end.  The other ALT at my school, T, and I each had 15-20 minutes to introduce ourselves, and then we gave the kids a quiz as to which ALT liked/knew how to do what things.  I don’t know how much of the lesson the kids grasped– the head English teacher sort of gave some translations and explanations along the way, and most of them did quite well on the quiz portion, so hopefully the presentation wasn’t too hard for them!  They were first years… so I guess that’s a good sign for the second and third years that I’ll be teaching tomorrow and Friday!

There were flubs and mistakes along the way, of course, but I think today went well.  I was asked to perform an impromptu ballet dance, had to shake hands and get about 90 middle schoolers to tell me their names, and was laughed at for liking idol groups, and still, I managed to survive.  Hopefully this is a good sign for the future, when I likely won’t be asked to give random performances or heckle each child individually!  In fact, as far as I know, I’m mostly the assistant at junior high school, and won’t usually be teaching the lessons myself, so if I survived today, hopefully it will be smooth sailing in the future. In the meanwhile… I’m dreading the first day of elementary!

2 Responses to “First time for everything”

  1. El August 30, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    I hope it was a self- questionnaire to rival Gilderoy Lockhart’s version in Harry Potter & the Chamber of Secrets!

    • jetsetjoshu August 30, 2012 at 5:40 am #

      Alas, since it wasn’t in the children’s native language, I had to be a bit more concise!

Leave a Reply

